Fall and Get Up

They say it doesn’t matter how many times you fall, what matters is how many times you get up.
Yeah right!
Tell that to Dayana Cisneros, Miss Gay Nicaragua, and she may slap you silly. If she can get up, that is.

There are some falls from which you never get up. Yeah, physically and with the help of strangers you may get up, but your dignity and self respect are forever stamped on the floor.

My worst fall to this day was back in NYC. A nasty April morning, those mornings when it rains and snows, when the streets are weapons of mass destruction.
I was running a bit late and decided to take a cab to the UES instead of the subway.
I was on my way to see a client. I had finished a project and had the blueprints with me, a bag with catalogs of materials and my cellphone. My hands were full when I got out of the cab, and I started to walk towards Park Ave. Everything seemed normal, but then it all turned black.

I thought this lady was gonna get me

I thought this lady was gonna get me

A few seconds later I tasted what I can best describe as shit. I had fallen face down in a puddle, right by one of those trees they put in the middle of the sidewalk. I then felt a human presence over me. It was a guy handing me mycellphone and a hand to help me up. I couldn’t see his face, I didn’t want to see his face.
“Thanks,” I said. “Thanks.”
I picked up all my crap and walked away as if nothing had happened. As I turned the corner I started to limp, so I called a cab and went home.
The aftermath was worse than I had expected. I had hurt my chin, gotten an open wound on my knee (3 stitches), broken my cellphone and wasted about 30 bucks worth of taxi rides.
But what’s worse, my dignity. My dignity will forever lay there, right there on that street in the Upper East Side.

RIP Dignity

RIP Dignity

You think the words of wisdom about falling vs getting up still apply?
Ha!
I got nothing out of it, except for medical bills. And of course, I was left dignity disabled/deprived ever since. Out of the 100% of dignity we are born with, I lost 80 of. I gotta be careful now, I have only 20% left, I’m running low.

