Sometimes I feel like Pocahontas

“Come taste the sun-sweet berries of the earth……”


He's gotta point

He’s gotta point

My favorite time to go to the countryside is from fall to early spring. I hate the summer there, too humid and no water, after all this is Northern Africa and water is scarce

However, now the countryside side is blooming with edibles for all the species.
I’m learning to pick mushrooms, so far is working because I haven’t died, if you stop getting news from me all of the sudden it’s because I ate a toxic mushroom and died, but know did I died happy, probably with a bunch of foam coming out of my mouth due the to poisonous mushroom but happy.

Boletus and Niscalo

Boletus and Niscalo

Apart from mushrooms, it’s chestnuts season, and the country house is surrounded by millions (more like hundreds) of chestnut trees, all you gotta do is  walk a bit, collect the biggest nuts (I giggled) and roast them at night while you watch a nice movie next to the fair place with the beast stealing the chestnuts from you.
Because Doggy has developed a love for chestnuts that I cannot explain.

Roasting chestnuts

Roasting chestnuts

It’s also time to stuff your face with “madroño” berries (strawberry tree), I love that stuff, they say that if you eat too much you may get drunk, well. I’m finding that to be a cheap lie, I tried all weekend long to get wasted with those berries and it didn’t work, Doggy loves those things.

Doggy also learned to find mushrooms, if I could only train him to find truffles….