How Sesame Street Saved the World

Yes, you read it right, Sesame Street saved the world, at least my world.
It’s Sunday, 10PM in Madrid and I can’t believe how thankful I am of my silly/foolish/childish decisions and of the fact that I always stick to them.
I had an important meeting earlier today for which we’ve been working long hours for weeks.
I had to “introduce” a new application to a group of college students. Everything was ready until it wasn’t, suddenly the application wouldn’t work. There I was, ready to pull a Steve Jobs about something that wasn’t going to work, as if it was Microsoft (where everything fails) instead of Apple.

What now bitch?

What now bitch?

When we were working on the slide show, the initial presentation contained names of people, pictures of humans and serious information.
When I saw it I was disgusted, so I decided to change all pics and names and use Sesame Street characters. People thought it was not professional.

“It’s for students not business men, this will at least make them laugh,”
I said, “So do it this way”

I started the presentation, making up shit as I was going. People looked kinda puzzled as to why there was no app. I was losing my public till we got to the “Social” section of said application and under Profile they saw a pic similar to the one below.

I'll forever love you

I’ll forever love you

They started to laugh, I had to explain that Cookie Monster was not going be part of their group of friends as he’s too famous now. That broke the ice, and after that we jumped to the “Chat” section. When they saw Abby and Elmo asking people where the coolest party was tonight and if they needed to bring booze, they lost it, and I think they secretly started to like me.

You say it girl!!!

You say it girl!!!

I had a laugh attack, but I had them where I wanted them, relaxed. They soon started to show interest for the application and started to ask questions.
You know how hard is to make college students ask random questions, they never ask!
Yes, it was hardly professional but it worked. The app doesn’t work yet, but they are really curious about it and once I was done and started to check the company’s email, there were a ton of kids inquiring about the app and asking to be part of the “test group.”