Valuable Lessons For Your Kids

*My coworker’s father has been found, he’s alive. Thanks to those who shared the article. Special thanks to Clowie.*

You know I’m all about good parenting, bringing up children who are capable of facing the challenges this world throws at us is our obligation.
It’s true that nothing can prepare us for the roughness of life at times, but it’s our duty to try to “train” our kids to be the best they can.
That being said, I’m not a father, so I don’t have a clue what educating kids at home is, all I do is to ruin the education kids receive, let’s face it, it’s fun.

5 minutes of laughter for the mother.  5 years of therapy for the daughter.

5 minutes of laughter for the mother.
5 years of therapy for the daughter.

I have a 2yo nice whom I recently met, her name is Sarah and she’s a doll.

Sarah, the opossum.

Sarah, the opossum.

I spent about 3 weeks with her, time enough to teach her valuable lessons, among them:

1. Self-awareness: We all know that self-awareness is develop after the 12th month, Sarah knows who she is she sees herself in the mirror. But does she knows what she is? Thanks to me she now knows. If you ask what her name is she would tell you “I’m Sarah the opossum”

You are big ass monkey!

You are big ass monkey!

2. Table manners: It’s hard for little kids to handle cutlery, Sarah was starting to use the fork however, bringing little pieces of food, like  a few grains of rice for instance, to her mouth was a challenge. I remember seeing her struggling, so I said: “Sarah, stop, you do it like this (removing the fork from her little hand and showing her how to lick the plate)”
She proved to be a quick learner, soon that became her favorite way of eating.

Licking a plate when food is good is underrated.

Licking a plate when food is good is underrated.

3. Potty Training: Whenever she needed her diapers to be changed or was about to do her business she would say “Diapers”. I needed teach her to be more articulate, but I needed to be patient, it was my duty as responsible uncle to teach my only niece how to talk like a decent lady.
“Sarah, when you need to pee you say: Pee like a puppy” She would look at me puzzled at first, but after 2-3 days she had it down.
Sarah, when you need to poo you say: I’m shitting myself”
Precious! What an accomplishment was when she said it the first time, I felt so proud.

Diaper time!

Diaper time!

Needless to say brother and his girl friend were delighted, even my mother called to congratulate me, it seems like 3 months later Sarah keeps doing what I taught her, she loved her uncle.