Why can’t life be a dog?

This is a subject that’s been on my mind for a few weeks already. I’ve written it a few times but never liked the finished product. I may not like how this ends but I’ll publish it.

I was talking to a good friend of mine whose back in Brazil. Not all my conversations are about me getting into prostitution, this one turned out to be quite interesting.
Male chauvinism. In idiomatic expressions, why are the words to express bad things female in gender?
This is more prominent in Romance Languages, probably because the gender of words is more defined.
I’ve failed to come up with many examples in English, but the most common is:

Life is a bitch.
Why can’t life be a dog?

Need I say more?

Need I say more?

You cry like a bitch.

You throw like a girl.
I’ve played college volleyball and there are girls that would knock you down if they hit you in the face.

In Spanish, Portuguese and Italian (languages that I’m proficient in) I can name a lot of cases when a word in its feminine form is used to express something bad or even to insult someone, while in its masculine form it’s used generally to say something good or it has a neutral/literal meaning. But let’s focus on Spanish because it’s the one I’m using lately.
Let’s start with:

PerrA(bitch): Basically a slut
PerrO(dog): Lazy or a mean guy

Perra

Perra

ZorrA(fox): A slut
ZorrO: A clever guy

Zorra

Zorra

Cualquier: Any guy
CualquierA: A whore/slut

Intimacies of a Prostitute

Intimacies of a Prostitute

AtrevidO: A brave, outspoken, carefree guy.
AtrevidA: A loud/rude girl and of course  a slut too.
Becca, from Lady or Not Here I Come wrote a post in a very funny way that you must read, in which she asks why being outspoken is ok when you are a guy, but when a woman does it, it’s sorta trashy?

Atrevida

Atrevida

Hombre de la vida(well-rounded man): A man with experience in life
Mujer de la vida: A whore

A well rounded woman

A well-rounded woman

CallejerO: An urban guy. A guy who likes to be out and about.
CallejerA: A slut/whore

Callejera

Callejera

Coñazo(from Coño, slang for vagina): Something annoying
La polla(from polla, slang for penis): Something awesome.

We all agree that scholl is a true "coñazo"

We all agree that scholl is a true “coñazo”

I’d love to hear examples from you, and I promise to write a later post with your additions.
We still live in a patriarchal society where too often femininity is associated with bad things, hence there’s no goddess figure in religion as important as her male counterpart.
The preconceived image that everything relative to femininity is weak or not worth it, it’s so deeply rooted in ourselves that even women are quick to judge a guy is he’s doing something considered to be merely feminine.
This is embedded in us, man or woman. We are predisposed to act this way because of the “norms” of our society. The fact that it’s “normal” should be shocking to say the least, don’t you think?

Miss Four Eyes, wrote a great post about male/femele roles, you should read it.

Kozo made a videolog about patriarchy, take 5 minutes of your time and watch it.

And to finish, Le Clown wrote a very interesting post about misogyny that is a must read.